Common Store.



Experimental Stories Theorisis

An Idea for a Short StoryWell, lately I’ve been thinking about Experimental Fiction. A lot of people think that I’m against experimental writing- I’m not. I just think that the true challenge lay not in breaking boundaries, but doing so in a way that can be considered something accessible. In other words, I think that experimentation without regards to losing the reader (a reader not used to experimental writing) is a more powerful, complicated challenge than experimental writing in order to please a literary audience.I’m not talking about restraint here- I’m talking about considering the whole of the novel and know exactly how to experiment to get the right effect. I think Forrest Aguirre said it best here, with this:A true experiment has controlled conditions that can be replicated by another, if we take the word literally. Under what conditions did the author write the experimental work? What were the laboratory tools? What algorithms were used? What are the experiments boundaries? How and when did you know the experiment was complete? If I were to attempt the same experiment given the same criteria and circumstances, would my results look the same or at least similar?An experimental piece of writing needs to be seen scientifically, as a reproducible result. I think I can to this by also saying that an experiment seeks to enhance the experience of the work, a way of taking the medium work and enhancing. Bringing the essence of the work out further, and making it stronger and more potent.With this in mind, I have an idea for a new short story. I’ve been trying to figure out if there was a way to take the ability of etext to the fullest. Somehow use the computer itself to help enhance the telling of a story.Of course, this has been done traditionally with interactive fiction, but so far even the most avant garde IF still exists as a game of some sort. Still exists as an interaction with winning and losing, with puzzles and right and wrong answers. More like an automated game of Choose Your Own Adventure.But, what if this was used to enhance a story, make it more real. I’ve always loved what I call “artifacts” in a story. These are any little things that try to make the work encroach upon the user reality and make the whole work seem more real and more authentic. Stories within stories, newspaper articles, catalogues, maps, diaries, journal entries. Stuff that feels like found art inside of the world itself, carefully created to make the work more real.I’m thinking about creating a short story that also contained an IF program you can download. The short story would be told in second person, and be about discovering a computer. The computer would be in the future, far off. The last remains of an ancient civilization.The IF program would be this computer. The short story, I think, should stand on it’s own. But, the program would create a more enhanced interaction, letting you talk to the AI and reveal more about it’s past, what happened to it, things like that. An enhancement, both subtle and complex, to the short story itself.I think I know what I’m doing next week.

MetaxuCafe

technorati tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

